Bleeding Forest

In the forest of scarlet
I was lost
Trailing next to a trickling stream
Of blood.
Light sprinkled in through the
Berry leaves
I trudged through the thistle that reached
My knees.
The sun began to set, the path
Out stretched.
The smell of copper and metal greeted my senses and landed
On my tongue.
Scrapes and cuts through
My flesh
Where the branches
Had scratched.
Eventually I could go on
No more.
Fallen and spread out on the red-painted
leaves
I succumbed to the forest which
Bleeds.

I wrote this poem from a picture featured on _picture it & write!

Published by Mercedes Moore

Hi, I'm Mercedes Moore. I'm a stay-at-home mom of two, author, and fitness professional. My main goal, however, is to connect with other moms and provide a safe space for us to grow and learn together.

3 thoughts on “Bleeding Forest

  1. Beautiful. I loved the powerful ending. The description of ‘succumbing’ to the forest was brilliant – “Fallen and spread out on the red-painted leaves
    I succumbed to the forest which” . Thanks for contributing this week to Picture it & write with a great poem, authormercedes!

    – Ermisenda

Leave a comment