To Be New

Your rays of heat

Melt the snow from me

Spring came too late

But I cannot wait-

I need to breathe

My lungs aren’t working…

I am still cold…

I need to come alive

I need to come to life

I need to…

I need you…

To lift me up

Into the sun

And watch me bloom

Until the

Moon wans

Like a lonely swan

I bow my head in shame

The light’s been gone

For so damn long

That it hurts

When you look my way…

I am still cold…

I need to be alive

I need the warmth inside

I need to feel

I need to heal

These blackened wounds

That prevent me to bloom

I will mend them

Soon I’ll have no excuse

For my selfish ties

When day does come

And spring has begun

I will know

To say goodbye

I need to say goodbye

I need to come to life

I need to…

I need to…

I need to feel the heart

Beating at the core

Of the earth

And I will be new

I will be new

Again.

Published by Mercedes Moore

Hi, I'm Mercedes Moore. I'm a stay-at-home mom of two, author, and fitness professional. My main goal, however, is to connect with other moms and provide a safe space for us to grow and learn together.

Leave a comment